• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Letterbashing

Started by Bill Gill, February 26, 2015, 01:35:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Gill

Thanks, Greenie. You're right, Corel Draw can do everything and probably more that Inkscape can do. Corel is an excellent program. I mentioned Inkscape (and previously GIMP) because both are free, open source, work on PC and Mac, and are accessible to modelers like me with a very limited modeling budget.

I'm still learning what GIMP can do. For me it seems very similar to Photoshop, although you will read widely varying opinions on that. That is not the point, however. If you have Corel and Photoshop, you can do everything shown here, they are the tool, not the technique. Inkscape has been on my computer for some time, but I've just started using it and finding what it can do. Right now I'm still stumbling along and some of the methods I've come up with at present are awkward and more complicated than need be, this is a technique in progress.

Both GIMP and Inkscape also have a tracing feature, which also sort of works. A lot depends on the contrast and resolution of the image being traced. In the color photo of F.B. Peck Coal Co. above, none of the tracing tools would give a usable copy of the letters.