• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Dave's corner

Started by Frederic Testard, January 21, 2011, 09:41:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frederic Testard

I've been working for quite a few months on this diorama, and those of you who follow RR-Line probably already know it. As Russ thought it might be interesting to show it here too, I start this topic.

I'm building this diorama for Troels Kirk's Coast Line RR On30 layout. Since he lives about 2500 km from where I live, the transfer could be difficult, but it should take place next june when the diorama will be exhibited at a French exhibition : "La Convention des Trains du Nouveau Monde" that Troels should attend too.

Dave's Corner owes its name to Dave Revelia, who built several years ago a scene which is the model of this one. This diorama was featured in the 2004 Logging, Mining & Industrial Annual of Finescale Railroader. It is still visible on Mario Rappinett's extensive web site at the following address :

http://www.modvid.com.au/html/body_revelia-boat_repair.html

Fitting the scene on Troels' layout required a few small layout changes, that the drawing below, due to Troels himself, shows quite well.

Now that the work is close to completion, I can say that these changes lead to a very compact scene, probably a bit undersized, but with many focal points in a rather small area.

Here are a general plan of the scene, and elevations and end views for the main building. On these plans, the scale of the square grid is 1 cm (0.4").

Frederic Testard

Chuck Doan