• Welcome to Westlake Publishing Forums.

News:

REGARDING MEMBERSHIP ON THIS FORUM: Due to spam, our server has disabled the forum software to gain membership. The only way to become a new member is for you to send me a private e-mail with your preferred screen name (we prefer you use your real name, or some variant there-of), and email adress you would like to have associated with the account.  -- Send the information to:  Russ at finescalerr@msn.com

Main Menu

Digital die cutters. A possible alternative to laser cutting?

Started by clevermod01, March 14, 2011, 01:28:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clevermod01

Has anyone on this forum had any experience or interest in Digital die cutters. I am very interested in your experiences. I am rather new to it (learning fast) however they are in common use with card stock modelers and the war and fantasy game communities. these machines come from the vinyl sign cutting industry. Small lightweight machines like craft robo (150 gms of force) have been developed for the scrapbook crowd but there are a heavier class of machine (700 to 950gms of force) that modelers might find useful. Their operation mirrors that of laser cutters in that it is basically computer controlled platen along an X axis and a cutting head that moves along the Y axis. Patterns are generated in software.
The cutting area is from 13" X 118" to 24" X 118"
I want to disclose that (as some of you know) I am one of the owners of Clever models and we make card stock based kits. We are also about to become resellers of the Boss cut Gazelle and the KNK (klick N Kut) line of digital die cutters. I asked Russ  for his approval before hand and in the interest of spreading information about a technology that might be of use to the group he graciously gave his assent.
As I get first hand experience with these machines I will share experiences and run tests.
Thanks
Thom M

clevermod01